North Western Deanery School of Radiology
School of Radiology >
Welcome to North Western Deanery School of Radiology Website

The School of Radiology is a specialty school in Englandís NHS North Western Deanery and was inaugurated in April 2011. It has superseded the Manchester Radiology Training Scheme which had been successfully training Clinical Radiologists since 1975.

The school is based in Manchester and has fourteen participating NHS hospital trusts with seventeen training departments located across a large geographical area from Macclesfield to Lancaster.

From August 2014 the new and subsequent intakes of ST1 trainees will train in one of three geographical sectors for the duration of their training with the exception of those trainees who require certain types of sub-specialty training in ST2, 4, 5 and 6 (neuroradiology, paediatric radiology, breast radiology and oncoradiology). There will also be some flexibility with respect to other areas of senior subspecialty training, in particular, interventional radiology. Trainees from all three sectors will join together for the teaching course.

East Sector
Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Trust (Manchester Royal Infirmary)
Pennine Acute Hospitals NHS Trust (North Manchester General Hospital)
Stockport NHS Trust (Stepping Hill Hospital)
East Cheshire NHS Trust (Macclesfield District General Hospital)

West Sector
Salford Royal Hospital NHS Trust
Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh NHS Trust (Royal Albert Edward Infirmary, Wigan)
Bolton NHS Trust (Royal Bolton Hospital)
South Manchester University Hospital NHS Trust (Wythenshawe Hospital)

Lancashire Sector
Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust (Royal Preston Hospital)
University Hospitals of Morecambe Bay NHS Trust (Lancaster Royal Hospital)
East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust (Royal Blackburn Hospital)
Blackpool, Fylde and Wyre NHS Trust (Blackpool Victoria Hospital)

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Trust (Royal Manchester Childrenís Hospital), The Christie NHS Trust and the neuroradiology departments at Salford Royal Hospital and Royal Preston Hospital will provide specific sub-specialty training.

Entrants to ST1 in August 2014 and subsequent years will rank their preferences for each sector at application. It will not be required to rank all of the sectors in the North Western Deanery.

Available training is comprehensive and is based on the latest Royal College of Radiologistís curriculum and takes five years to complete with year six training available for specific sub-specialties.

Local Images